Recipes

Not Your Momma’s Chicken Salad 

Today, I made something a little different, but really good. I decided to make my own twist on chicken salad and based it on what was in my kitchen. Sometime’s you have to work with what you have, right? Also, #collegebudget and time.

I threw this together before heading to one of my classes and I couldn’t be more happy with the outcome! This meal is good too if you’re going to a party and want to bring something healthy or needing a good healthy meal after or before a really hard workout.

In my case: track race!

So let’s get in the kitchen and start mixing.


Gluten Free + Dairy Free Chicken Pasta Salad 

Prep Time: 20 Min

Mix Time: 6 Min

Total: 26 Min

INGREDIENTS:

  • Handful of Grapes – $1.99 LB @ Publix
  • 1 Cup of Gluten Free Penne Pasta – $1.32 @ Walmart
  • 1/4 Cup of Almonds OR Walnuts (preference)
  • 1 Can of Chunked Chicken Breast OR 1 Chicken Breast – $.98 @ Walmart (I use the canned b/c of time and cheaper)
  • 1/2 Cup Dairy Free Mayo

FOR DAIRY FREE MAYO: 2 Egg Whites, 3/4 Cup of Olive Oil, and 1 tsp of lemon juice

DIRECTIONS:

For Mayonnaise:

  1. Separate two eggs whites in food processor or blender and mix
  2. Add oil slowly till thickness desired
  3. Add lemon juice and any other spices preferred

For Chicken Pasta Salad:

  1. Fill a medium pot with 3 cups of water and bring to a boil – then add pasta
  2. Drain chicken can and put in a medium mixing bowl OR fork baked chicken breast till shredded
  3. Chop grapes and almonds (ADD TO MIXING BOWL)
  4. Add 1/2 Cup of Dairy free mayonaise
  5. Drain pasta after noodles are soft + add to mix
  6. MIX IMG_1363

Jenna’s Thoughts —

This was an easy and quick meal to make. Especially if you meal prep or only have 45 minutes till your next class. Just because you choose not or cannot eat dairy, doesn’t mean you have to cut mayonnaise-based foods. I get it. Eating healthy can seem hard, but I am here to tell you it does not have to be. Get in the kitchen and experiment a little. Trust me you won’t regret it. I learned to love cooking and making up random recipes in high school. This was something I figured I could make my own healthy twist on. Try it and let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Side note: I hate celery, so add it into the salad if that is what you like. I just can’t.

Xoxo

– J

1 thought on “Not Your Momma’s Chicken Salad ”

Leave a Reply

