Recipes

GF + DF Lemon Poppy Seed Bread

Yummy Bread = A good day

I have a huge amount of poppy seeds hanging around and realized I could make a gluten free + dairy free version of poppy seed bread. I had some trouble with the glaze, so instead of a glaze — I got a honey frosting creamy glaze topping. It will take a few times to perfect that part, I will probably change the recipe for that in the future.
The bread though… oh my goodness me. The bread turned out so perfect and I could not be happier.

So excited to share this yummy dessert, snack or side dish!


PREP TIME: 15 MIN|COOK TIME: 50 MIN|TOTAL TIME: 1 HR 5MIN
* Serves one loaf of bread

INGREDIENTS:

Poppy Seed Bread 

  1. 3 Eggs
  2. 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla ALMOND MILK
  3. 2 tbsp of lemon juice
    • take a lemon and juice it!
  4. 2 cups of ALMOND FLOUR
    • I recommend adding it in a flour sifter as you add
    • I started using King Arthur Flour from Walmart for around $7-11 (I like it more)
  5. 1 tbsp vanilla
  6. 1/4 cup of coconut sugar
    • you can get it at Walmart for $5 or if you want to go the cheaper route you can buy unsweetened shredded coconut and grind it up very finely and it works the same!
  7. 1 tbsp baking powder
  8. 1/4 cup Organic Blue Agave or PURE Maple Syrup (both natural sugar alternatives)
  9. 1 1/2 tbsp zest of lemon
  10. 2 tbsp poppy seeds

Honey Glaze 

  1. 1 Cup of Coconut Creamer
  2. 3 tbsp honey
  3. 1/2 tsp lemon zest
  4. 1 cup coconut sugar

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350’F & oil bread pan
  2. Add all wet ingredients to mixing bowl
  3. Then add dry ingredients except for poppy seeds – stir those in with a spoon last
  4. Add batter mix to loaf pan for 50 Min until bread is done
    GLAZE
  5. As the bread cooks prepare your glaze. Use small-medium sauce pan
  6. Add coconut creamer and let boil whisking frequently for around 15-20 minutes
  7. Add honey and lemon zest
  8. Add coconut sugar last and mix until thick and creamy
  9. Pour over bread and serve!

Bread 2


Jenna’s Thoughts 

Yummy… that is the first word that came to mind with this bread! I could eat this whole loaf by myself. It was moist, sweet and just all around perfect.
I found that if I would have used full-fat coconut milk for the GLAZE (you can find it in the international isle) it would have come out creamier and more glaze like, but this worked just as good.
I loved this so much! I will use this recipe in the future again for sure. Hope you enjoy.

xoxo

Screen Shot 2017-06-15 at 9.44.12 PM

Leave a Reply

